Skip to content
Cart 0 items: $0.00



The land of Alejandro Bulgheroni Estate was once part of the Rancho Carne Humana Spanish land grant given to Edward T. Bale in 1841. Bale married the niece of Mexican General Vallejo and was awarded the grant shortly after. Their daughter, Caroline, married Charles Krug and received a dowry of a 20-acre piece of the Rancho that would eventually become Charles Krug Winery.

Gradually, the Rancho was sold and divided into smaller lots. in 1860, our 13-acre parcel was sold for $2,070 to John Howell, a prominent blacksmith in Napa County and for whom Howell Mountain was named.

In modern history, the estate was first planted to grapes by Jim and Nena Talcott in 1975. Under their ownership, a charming stone winery was built to vinify the property's grapes.

The property then served as the Founders Room for the wine portfolio of H. William Harlan and produce the first vintages of The Napa Valley Reserve.

After its acquisition by Alejandro Bulgheroni, he began an extensive renovation and enhancement project to upgrade the old stone winery, plant new vineyard blocks, transform the tasting salon and re-envision the future of the property.

The winery renovations provided upgraded infrastructure and new equipment, dedicated solely to the vinification of Lithology wines. In future years, additional vineyard blocks will be planted at the highest elevation of the property and a cave will be built for barrel storage and aging.

Join Our Mailing List!